How do I deactivate Messenger?

You can only deactivate Messenger if you previously deactivated your Facebook account.
To deactivate Messenger after you've deactivated your Facebook account:
iPhone and iPad:
  1. From Chats, tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
  2. Tap Account Settings.
  3. Below Your Facebook Information, tap Delete Your Account and Information.
  4. Tap Deactivate.
  5. Type your password.
  6. Tap Submit.
To reactivate Messenger, log in with your username and password.
Android:
  1. From Chats, tap your profile picture in the top left corner.
  2. Tap Legal & Policies.
  3. Tap Deactivate Messenger.
  4. Tap Deactivate.
To reactivate Messenger, log in with your username and password.
Messenger Lite:
  1. Tap in the top right corner, then tap Account Settings.
  2. Scroll down and tap Account Ownership and Control.
  3. Tap Deactivation and Deletion > select Deactivate Account.
  4. Tap Continue to Account Deactivation.
  5. Enter a reason for deactivating and tap Continue.
  6. Tap Deactivate My Account.
To reactivate Messenger, log in with your username and password.
Was this information helpful?