How do I deactivate Messenger?

You can only deactivate Messenger if you previously deactivated your Facebook account.

To deactivate Messenger after you've deactivated your Facebook account:

iPhone or iPad:

  1. Open Messenger.
  2. Tap your profile picture in the top left corner > Legal & Policies > Deactivate Messenger.
  3. Tap Deactivate.

Android:

  1. Open Messenger.
  2. Tap your profile picture in the top left corner > Legal & Policies > Deactivate Messenger.
  3. Tap Deactivate.

To reactivate Messenger, log in with your username and password.

Was this information helpful?