Who can see my hidden listings on Facebook Marketplace?

If you choose to hide a listing, it will be hidden from your friends on Facebook and Messenger in most cases but will still be visible to other people on Facebook and Messenger. All listings must follow our Commerce Policies.
Listings with Hide from friends turned on are still public. Anyone who isn’t your friend on Facebook or Messenger can see your listings with Hide from friends turned on.
This means that your listing(s) can still be seen by:
  • People who aren’t logged into Facebook or Messenger.
  • Former friends (example: people that you’ve unfriended or have unfriended you).
  • Friends of your Facebook friends.
Your friends on Facebook or Messenger may also still see your listings(s) if:
    Messenger
  • Someone shares the link to a listing that doesn’t have Hide from friends turned on, then you turn on Hide from friends after the listing is shared. In this case your friends may still be able to see a preview of your listing in Messenger.
  • Stories
  • You share a listing that doesn’t have Hide from friends turned on to Stories, then turn on Hide from friends after sharing the listing to your story. In this case your friends may still be able to see a preview of the listing until your story expires (up to 24 hours).
Groups
You can’t hide listings that you create in groups. You also can’t list any hidden Marketplace listings in these groups. If you list something in a group, then turn on Hide from friends on that listing, it will be removed from the group.
Renewed Listings
If you renew a listing, the Hide from friends settings from your original listing will apply. You can change this setting at any time.
Relisting Items
If you relist an item (example: after an item has sold), the Hide from friends setting will be turned off automatically. You can change this setting at any time.
Note: If you share the link to a listing with Hide from friends turned on in a post or comment, your Facebook friends won’t be able to see the listing. However, they’ll still be able to see the rest of your post or comment, such as any other text you post with the link to your listing.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No