How do I block someone on Facebook Marketplace?

If you think someone has violated our Commerce Policies or Community Standards, please report them.
Before you block someone
Keep in mind that when you block someone who's messaging you on Marketplace, you are blocking that person on Facebook. When you block someone on Facebook:
  • You can't see each other's listings on Marketplace.
  • You can't send each other any new messages.
  • You and the person you block can still see any messages sent before you blocked them.
Block someone
When you block someone they will no longer be able to do things such as tag you or see things you post on your timeline.
To block someone:
  1. Click account in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy, then click Settings.
  3. Click Blocking in the left side menu.
  4. In the Block users section, enter the name of the profile you want to block and click Block.
  5. Select the specific profile you want to block from the list that appears and click Block, then click Block [name].
Note: If you can't find someone using this method, try going to the profile and selecting Block from the more menu in the bottom right of the cover photo.
Keep in mind:
  • When you unblock someone, you won't automatically be friends again. If you block a friend and then unblock them, you'll need to send them a new friend request.
  • People won't be notified when you block them.
Unblock someone
When you unblock someone, that person will be able to see your posts on Facebook that you share with the public. The person won't automatically become your friend on Facebook. If you want to become friends with a person who you've unblocked, you'll need to send them a friend request.
  1. Click account in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy, then click Settings.
  3. In the left column of your Settings, click Blocking.
  4. In the Block Users section you should see a list of people you've blocked.
  5. Click Unblock next to the name of the person you want to unblock.
  6. Click Confirm to finish unblocking the person.
Note: If you unblock someone, you won't be able to block them again for a few days.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No