What’s the difference between a visible and hidden Facebook group and how do I change it?

Group admins can choose to make their group visible or hidden.
  • Visible: Anyone can find the group in search and other places on Facebook.
  • Hidden: Only members can find the group in search and other places on Facebook.
Keep in mind that public groups can only be visible. To hide a public group, first change the group's privacy from public to private, and then hide the group.
VisibleHidden
Who can see the group's name?AnyoneCurrent, invited and former members
Who can see the group description?AnyoneCurrent, invited and former members
Who can find the group in search and other places on Facebook?People on FacebookCurrent, invited and former members
Who can request to join?People on FacebookFormer members
To change your group to visible or hidden:
  1. From your Feed, click Groups in the left menu and select your group. If you don't see Groups, click See more.
  2. Click Settings in the left menu.
  3. Click next to Hide Group.
  4. Click Visible or Hidden and then click Save.
Note: Group members won’t receive a notification when you change the group to visible or hidden.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No