If I'm tagged in a post, will my friends be able to see it, even if it wasn't shared with them?
When someone tags you in a post, it will be visible to the audience selected for the post and anyone else you add to the audience based on your privacy settings. You can choose to automatically add your friends, select specific friends or not add anyone to the audience of the post.
To indicate who you want added to the audience of posts you're tagged in:
  1. Click in the upper-right corner of any Facebook page and select Settings.
  2. Click Timeline and Tagging in the left-hand column.
  3. Look for the setting When you're tagged in a post, who do you want to add to the audience if they aren't already in it? and click Edit to the far right.
  4. Select an audience from the dropdown.
This setting defaults to friends, which means when you’re tagged in a post, you and your friends can see the post, even if they weren’t in the original audience.
The post you're tagged in may be shared with the original audience, as well as the friends you suggest. These people may see it in News Feed, search and other places on Facebook.
Was this information helpful?