What’s the difference between a public and private Facebook group and how do I change the privacy setting?

Only group admins can change the privacy of a Facebook group.
There are 2 privacy settings for Facebook groups:
  • Public: anyone on or off Facebook can see who’s in the group and what they post.
  • Private: only members can see who’s in the group and what they post.
Changing Public Group Privacy
Public groups can change to private. If an admin schedules the privacy setting to change, they have 3 days to cancel if they’d like to. Once a group changes from public to private, the change is permanent.
Keep in mind:
  • All admins will get a notification when the privacy change is scheduled.
  • Everyone in the group will get a notification when the privacy change happens.
  • If the change is canceled, the group will stay public and admins will be notified that the change was canceled.
To change the privacy of a public Facebook group you admin:
  1. From your Feed, click Groups in the left menu and select your group. If you don't see Groups, click See more.
  2. Click Group Settings in the left menu.
  3. Click edit next to Privacy.
  4. Select Private and then click Save.
Changing Private Group Privacy
Private groups can't change to public to protect the privacy of group members. But group admins can choose to make their groups visible or hidden.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No