Change your story's privacy setting on Facebook
iPhone App Help
iPad App Help
Android App Help
Mobile Browser Help
Facebook Lite App Help
Anything you add to your story will appear on Facebook and Messenger, and will be shared with the same audience across both apps.
You can always control who you share your story with, and you can change these settings anytime.
To change your story privacy settings:
- Add a photo or video to share to your story.
- Next to Your Story in the top left, click the audience selector:
- Public: Your Facebook friends, followers and people you've chatted with on Messenger will see your stories. Anyone who follows you can see your story, but only people you're friends with can reply.
- Friends: Only your Facebook friends will see your story on Facebook and the Messenger app. Your Messenger connections will not see your story.
- Custom: You can select specific people who will be able to see your stories.
To hide your story from specific people:
- Open the Facebook app for iOS or Android.
- Set your story privacy to Friends.
- Tap Hide Story From.
- Tap to select the people you'd like to hide your story from.
- Tap Done or at the top, then tap Save.
If you've placed someone on your Restricted list, they won't be able to see your story.
Note: Any changes you make to your story privacy settings will apply to any photos and videos currently in your story in addition to those you add going forward. You can change these settings anytime.