How do I pause a Facebook group that I admin?

If you're an admin of a group, you can pause your group if you need a break from maintaining it or if you need time to catch up on tasks such as managing posts or membership. A message will be added to the top of the group explaining that all activity is paused. New posts, comments and reactions are paused for everyone, including admins.
If you’re a group admin and you want to permanently remove your group from Facebook, you can delete it. Learn more about the differences between pausing and deleting a group.
To pause a group:
  1. From your Feed, click Groups in the left menu and select your group. If you don't see Groups, click See more.
  2. Click below the cover photo.
  3. Select Pause group.
  4. Select a reason for pausing the group, then click Continue. To confirm you want to pause your group, click Continue again.
  5. You will then have the option to write a group announcement about the pause, and schedule when the group will automatically resume.
  6. Click Pause Group at the bottom.
To change when a group will automatically resume:
  1. From your Feed, click Groups in the left menu and select your group. If you don't see Groups, click See more.
  2. Click Edit below the cover photo, then adjust the date and time and click Confirm.
To resume a group:
  1. From your Feed, click Groups in the left menu and select your group. If you don't see Groups, click See more.
  2. Click Resume below the cover photo, then click Confirm.
When a group is paused, members can still:
Keep in mind that Facebook can continue to enforce Community Standards when the group is paused.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No