Leave a group chat on Facebook

This is about using messages on Facebook. For help with the Messenger app or messenger.com, visit the Messenger Help Center.
To leave a group conversation:
  1. In the top right of Facebook, click messenger.
  2. Go to the conversation.
  3. Click the chat's name at the top.
  4. Click Leave group.
The other people in the conversation will be notified that you left and you will no longer receive messages from the conversation.
Keep in mind that you can leave group conversations, but not one-on-one conversations. To prevent someone from starting a message thread with you, you can unfriend them or block them. You can also report an abusive message.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No