How do I unfriend or remove a friend on Facebook?
Over the next few months, we're updating how www.facebook.com looks. Learn more about how to switch between New and Classic Facebook.
To unfriend someone:
New Facebook
  1. Go to that person's profile by typing their name into the search bar at the top.
  2. Hover over their name and click .
  3. Select Unfriend, then Confirm.
Classic Facebook
  1. Go to that person's profile by typing their name into the search bar at the top.
  2. Hover over Friends at the top of their profile.
  3. Select Unfriend.
Note: If you can't find the person you want to unfriend, their account may be deactivated.

To unfriend someone who has deactivated their Facebook account:
  1. Go to your profile.
  2. Click Friends.
  3. Search for the person’s name.
  4. Click Friends, then select Unfriend.

The person you unfriended won't be notified. If you don't want someone to see your profile, add you as a friend or send you a message, you can block them.
Note: If you unfriend someone, you'll also be removed from that person's friends list. If you want to be friends with this person again, you'll need to add them as a friend again.
Was this information helpful?