How do I unfriend or remove a friend on Facebook?

To unfriend someone's profile:
  1. Go to that profile by typing their profile name into the search bar at the top of Facebook.
  2. Click at the top of their profile.
  3. Click Unfriend, then Confirm.
Note: If you can't find the profile you want to unfriend, the profile may be deactivated.
To unfriend a deactivated profile:
  1. Click your profile picture in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Click Friends.
  3. Search for the profile’s name.
  4. Click more, then select Unfriend.
The profile you unfriended won't be notified. If you don't want someone to see your profile, add you as a friend or send you a message, you can block their profile.
Note: If you unfriend someone's profile, you'll also be removed from that profile's friends list. If you want to be friends with this profile again, you'll need to add them as a friend again.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No