How do I unfriend or remove a friend on Facebook?

To unfriend someone:
  1. Go to that person's profile by typing their name into the search bar at the top of Facebook.
  2. Click at the top of their profile.
  3. Click Unfriend, then Confirm.
Note: If you can't find the person you want to unfriend, their account may be deactivated.
To unfriend someone who has deactivated their Facebook account:
  1. Click your profile picture in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Click Friends.
  3. Search for the person’s name.
  4. Click more, then select Unfriend.
The person you unfriended won't be notified. If you don't want someone to see your profile, add you as a friend or send you a message, you can block them.
Note: If you unfriend someone, you'll also be removed from that person's friends list. If you want to be friends with this person again, you'll need to add them as a friend again.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No