Share and Manage Posts on Your Timeline

You can control who can see your Timeline posts. If you tag someone in a post, you create a link to their profile. The post you tag the person in may also be added to that person’s Timeline. Learn more about tagging.

You can also use your activity log to review and manage what you share on Facebook (ex: photos, likes).

To share something on Facebook:
  1. From the top of your News Feed or timeline, click Make Post.
  2. Add a text update or click the type of post you'd like to share (example: Photo/Video, Feeling/Activity).
  3. You can also:
  4. Choose where you'd like to share your post. If you add a photo, video or text with a background as your post, you'll also have the option to share to your story. Click to select News Feed, Your Story, or both:
    • News Feed: Your post will show up in News Feed and on your timeline.
    • Your Story: Your story will be visible to your selected audience for 24 hours.
  5. Click next to News Feed or Your Story to select an audience for your post.
  6. Click Share.
Note: You can only add a Life Event from your timeline.
Was this information helpful?
To share how you're feeling or what you're doing in a status update:
  1. Click Create Post at the top of your News Feed or timeline. Click Write something... in a group or an event.
  2. Click then select Feeling/Activity. In an event, click below the post.
  3. Choose Feeling... or select what you're doing (example: Traveling to...) in the dropdown menu.
  4. Choose how you’re feeling or a description of what you're doing (example: where you’re traveling to) by clicking one of the suggestions, or type a word to see more options. If it isn't listed, you can fill in your own and click it when it appears in the dropdown menu.
  5. To edit how you’re feeling or what you’re doing, click Feeling/Activity and make your changes, or click X to remove it from your update. To change your icon, click the icon in your status update and choose a new one from the dropdown menu.
  6. Once you’ve added your feeling or activity, finish filling in your status update and click Share or Post.
If you choose an activity like watching a TV show or reading a book, the TV show or book will also appear in the related sections on your About page.
Note: you can only add one feeling or activity to a status update.
Was this information helpful?
To edit a post you've shared on Facebook:
  1. Go to your post.
  2. Click in the top right, then click Edit Post.
  3. Make your changes.
  4. Click Save.
If photos are included in your post, keep in mind:
  • In most cases, you can delete photos without deleting the entire post. Hover over any photos you'd like to delete and click X in the top right. Click + to add new photos.
  • You can't delete photos from your post if you shared your post from a third-party app (example: Spotify, a news site) or a photo album.
Was this information helpful?
You can remove posts that you and your friends post on your timeline. To remove a post from your timeline:
  1. From your News Feed, click your name in the top left corner.
  2. Scroll down and hover over the post and click in the top right corner.
  3. Select Delete or Hide from timeline from the dropdown menu.
    • Hide from timeline: Removes the post from your timeline, not Facebook.
    • Delete: Removes the post from Facebook entirely. Keep in mind that you can only delete posts that you have posted.
If you don't want something you're tagged in to appear on your timeline, you'll need to remove the tag. When you remove a tag, the post will no longer appear on your timeline. However, that post is still visible to the audience it's shared with in other places on Facebook, such as News Feed and search.
Was this information helpful?
You can only change the date of something you posted.
You can change the date of posts on your timeline, including your life events and any photos and videos you post or are tagged in. This will move the posts to a new spot on your timeline. You can only change the date to an earlier day.
To change the date of a post:
  1. Hover over the post and click .
  2. Select Change Date.
  3. Enter a new date and click Save.
Note: If you tag your friends in a photo, post or app activity, they'll also have the option to change the date of this post when they see it on their timelines. You have the option to change it back.
Was this information helpful?
To add your location to an existing Facebook post on a computer:
  1. Go to the post.
  2. Click in the top right corner of the post.
  3. Click Edit Post.
  4. Click Check in and then click Where are you? to select a location from the list below or search for a location.
  5. Click Save.
Was this information helpful?
When a friend tags you in a post on Facebook, it automatically appears on your timeline. If you want to review all posts (including friends' posts) before they appear on your timeline, you need to turn on Timeline Review.
Keep in mind, if someone you're not friends with tags you in a post, you'll be prompted to review it to appear on your timeline, even if you don't have Timeline Review turned on.
To turn on Timeline Review or review your Timeline Review settings:
  1. Click at the top right of Facebook and select Settings.
  2. In the left column, click Timeline and Tagging.
  3. Look for the setting Review posts you're tagged in before the post appears on your timeline? and click Edit to the far right.
  4. Select Enabled or Disabled.
Note: Timeline Review only controls what's allowed on your timeline. Posts you're tagged in may still appear in Search, News Feed and other places on Facebook.
Timeline Review for legacy contacts:
You can also choose to add a legacy contact to your account, who looks after your account if it's memorialized. Your legacy contact will be able to turn off Timeline Review so tagged posts can appear in the Tributes section. Learn more about what legacy contacts can do.
Was this information helpful?
If you turn on timeline review, you need to review and approve all the posts you're tagged in before they appear on your timeline.
Keep in mind, if someone you're not friends with tags you in a post, you'll be prompted to review it before it appears on your timeline, even if you haven't turned on timeline review.
To get to your timeline review:
  1. Click on your name or profile picture in the top left of your News Feed to go to your profile.
  2. In the bottom right of your cover photo, click Activity Log.
  3. In the left column, click on Timeline Review.
  4. Click Add to Timeline next to an individual post to approve it, or click Hide to ignore it.
Note: Timeline review only controls what's allowed on your timeline. Posts you're tagged in may still appear in Search, News Feed and other places on Facebook.
Was this information helpful?
Only you and your friends can post on your timeline. To prevent your friends from posting on your timeline:
  1. Click at the top right of Facebook and select Settings.
  2. In the left column, click Timeline and Tagging.
  3. Look for the setting Who can post on your timeline? and click Edit to the far right.
  4. Click the dropdown menu and select Only Me.
Keep in mind, your friends will still be able to comment on any post they can see (ex: a photo you share on your timeline that includes them in the audience). A few other ways to manage your timeline include:
Was this information helpful?
To post something on a friend's timeline:
  1. Type the person's name in the search bar at the top of your page.
  2. Click the box that says Write something to... and choose from the options.
  3. Photo/Video: You can select a photo or video to add to the post.
    Feeling/Activity: Adds a feeling or activity to the post.
    Check in: Adds a location to the post.
    Tag Friends: You can tag friends in the post.
  4. Click Post.
Keep in mind that when you post on a friend's timeline, they choose the audience for your post.
Was this information helpful?