How do I take a break from someone's profile on Facebook?

Take a break from a profile on Facebook who you want to see less.
You can take a break from someone's profile on Facebook when you change your relationship status to single, divorced or leave it blank. You can also take a break from a profile you're friends with on Facebook.
When you take a break, you'll be able to:
  • See less of someone's profile: Limit where you see someone's profile on Facebook. If you choose to see them less, their posts and posts they're tagged in won't appear in your Feed and you won't be prompted to message them or tag them in photos. To see their posts again, you can follow them.
  • Limit a profile's ability to see your posts and posts you're tagged in: Hide your posts from the profile you want to take a break from. They'll be added to your Restricted List and will only see posts you tag them in or share publicly.
  • Edit who can see past posts: Limit who can see posts including photos, status updates, videos and more. You can limit posts you're tagged in or that you've tagged someone else in by changing your privacy settings.
    These posts can only be seen by the profiles that are tagged in them. These posts won't appear on your timeline anymore but will still appear on other profiles' timelines and search results unless the profile who originally posted removes the content.
    You'll also be removed as a contributor from any shared albums with the profile you want to take a break from.
If you're looking for other ways to take a break from someone, you can change your profile picture or archive your message thread with their profile.
Keep in mind that you can always block or unfriend someone's profile on Facebook.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No