What happens to my ID after I send it to Facebook?
We have fewer people available to review IDs because of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. We’re trying hard to prioritize reviews for the most urgent cases. This means we may be unable to review your ID or it may take longer than usual.
After you send us a copy of your ID, it'll be encrypted and stored securely. Your ID will not be visible to anyone on Facebook.
To help ensure IDs used for identity confirmation are real, we use both manual review and automated systems. This helps prevent abuse such as scams and impersonation, and helps ensure that ads with political content are authentic.
To help improve our systems for detecting fake IDs and related abuse, we may ask for your permission to use an encrypted copy of your ID for up to one year. Your ID will not be used for this purpose unless that was indicated at the time you sent your ID to Facebook.
If you don't want Facebook to use your ID to improve our automated systems for detecting fake IDs, you can adjust your Identity Confirmation Settings. If you turn this option off, the copy of your ID will be deleted within 30 days of submission or when you turned this option off.
We’ll use your ID or official document to confirm your identity. We'll also use it to help detect and prevent risks such as impersonation or ID theft, which helps to keep you and our Facebook community safe. It will not be shared on your profile, in ads or with other admins of your Pages or ad accounts. After we’ve confirmed your identity and run compliance checks, we’ll delete your ID or document within 30 days. When required by law, we will securely store your name and date of birth for longer.
Was this information helpful?