What happens to your ID after you send it to Facebook

After you send us a copy of your ID, it'll be encrypted and stored securely. Your ID won't be visible on your profile, to friends or to other people on Facebook.
To help ensure IDs used for identity confirmation are real, we use both manual review and automated systems. We may also partner with trusted service providers to confirm your identity. This helps detect and prevent risks such as impersonation or ID theft, keeping you and our Facebook community safe.
To help improve our systems for detecting fake IDs and related abuse, we may securely store your ID for up to 1 year. We’ll always let you know at the time if we do this, and you can change this at any time in your Identity Confirmation Settings.
If you're uploading an ID to get authorized to run ads about social issues, elections or politics, we may store your name, date of birth or ID expiration date for longer than one year. This is for legal reasons and to help keep ads on Facebook safe.
When you capture a photo of your ID, the photo might be stored on your device. For security reasons, it's often better to delete this photo from your device's photo gallery after you've completed the ID upload process.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No