After I block a profile on Facebook, can I see anything about that profile?
Yes. Blocking allows you to prevent many interactions with someone's profile on Facebook, but you may still encounter content they've shared.
Here's what you might see:
- Messages: Your message history with a profile you've blocked will stay in your inbox. If the blocked profile is ever included in a conversation with a group of friends, you may be able to see the messages. Remember, you can leave a conversation that you don't want to be part of, or delete a conversation that you don't like.
- Mutual friend content: There's a chance that you'll see content about the blocked profile through mutual friends. For example, if the blocked profile tags a mutual friend in a photo, you might see this on your friend's timeline.
- Photos: You might see photos or tags of the blocked profile added by other people.
- Groups: A profile you've blocked won't be able to add you to a group, but you'll be able to see groups that the blocked profile created or is a member of.
- Events: A profile you've blocked won't be able to invite you to an event, but you'll be able to see events to which both you and the blocked profile are invited.
- Games and apps: Since games and apps are run by outside developers, the Facebook block won't apply to them. So you could see someone whose profile you blocked while you're playing a game (example: in the game's chat room).
- Marketplace seller ratings and reviews: If you block a Marketplace seller that you've rated or submitted a review for, then the seller's profile will still be able to see, report, and respond to your review.
- Buyers: If you block a Marketplace seller that you've rated or submitted a review for, then the seller's profile will still be able to see, report, and respond to your review.
- Sellers: If you block a buyer on Marketplace, then you will still be able to see ratings and reviews left by that buyer's profile. You will still be able to report and respond to those reviews.
- Additional profiles: Blocking a profile won’t carry over to other profiles someone may create. You may still see and interact with their other profiles.