What is unblocking and how do I unblock someone on Facebook?
Over the next few months, we're updating how www.facebook.com looks. Learn more about how to switch between New and Classic Facebook. Click below to go to the directions for the version you're using.
When you unblock someone, that person will be able to see your posts on Facebook that you share with the public. The person won't automatically become your friend on Facebook. If you want to become friends with a person who you've unblocked, you'll need to send them a friend request.
New Facebook
  1. Click in the top right.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  3. In the left column of your Settings, click Blocking.
  4. In the Block Users section you should see a list of people you've blocked.
  5. Click Unblock next to the name of the person you want to unblock.
  6. Click Confirm to finish unblocking the person.
Classic Facebook
  1. Click in the top right of Facebook and select Settings.
  2. In the left column of your Settings, click Blocking.
  3. In the Block Users section you should see a list of people you've blocked.
  4. Click Unblock next to the name of the person you want to unblock.
  5. Click Confirm to finish unblocking the person.
Note: If you unblock someone, you won't be able to block them again for a few days.
Was this information helpful?