How do I stop people from posting on my timeline on Facebook?
Over the next few months, we're updating how www.facebook.com looks. Learn more about how to switch between New and Classic Facebook. Click below to go to the directions for the version you're using.
Only you and your friends can post on your timeline. To prevent your friends from posting on your timeline:
New Facebook
  1. Click in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  3. In the left column, click Timeline and Tagging.
  4. Look for the setting Who can post on your timeline? and click Edit to the far right.
  5. Click the dropdown menu and select Only Me.
Classic Facebook
  1. Click in the top right and select Settings.
  2. In the left column, click Timeline and Tagging.
  3. Look for the setting Who can post on your timeline? and click Edit to the far right.
  4. Click the dropdown menu and select Only Me.
Keep in mind, your friends will still be able to comment on any post they can see (example: a photo you share on your timeline that includes them in the audience).
A few other ways to manage your timeline:
Was this information helpful?