How do I archive a conversation on Facebook?
This is about using messages on Facebook on a computer. For help with the Messenger app, visit the Messenger Help Center.
Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person. Deleting a conversation permanently removes the message history from your inbox.
To archive a conversation:
- Go to messenger.com.
- Open the conversation you want to archive.
- Click at the top right of the conversation.
- Click Archive.
Once you do this, the conversation's history will be preserved, and you'll still be able to find it later. If the same person sends you a new message, the archived conversation will reappear in your inbox, and the new message will be added to it.
You can also delete messages, but you can't undelete them.